Jan. 1 earthquake shifted Japanese coastline over 800 feet

Satellite images captured striking changes in the coastline of Japan’s Noto Peninsula following a massive earthquake on New Year’s Day. 

A 7.6 magnitude earthquake struck Japan on Jan. 1 around 2:10 a.m. EST (0710 GMT, or 4:10 p.m. local time in Japan), prompting orders for residents to evacuate affected coastal areas that experienced significant uplift. Satellite imagery of the area before and after the quake shows that the intense uplift extended the coastline by up to 820 feet (250 meters), which is greater than the length of two American football fields.

rana00

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *